Advice from a 5 year old

Little Dude and I decided to take advantage of today’s gorgeous un-January-like weather and go out for a run. It was awesome! We stopped at Giant for some groceries, put them in the “trunk” of the stroller and then headed home with an extra 15 or so pounds. Mama got a heck of a workout today, I’ll tell you that!

As we were finishing up our 5 miler, we came upon a mom with her two kids. The boy was on his trike and the girl was on her little bike. Little Dude and I went off-roading in the BOB to avoid hitting the kiddos, but we were stopped by the 5 year old. She threw down her bike and ran over to the stroller. “He is so cute!” she exclaimed.

Her little brother also dismounted and ran over. They peered in at Little Dude as mom yelled, “Don’t touch the baby!”

The kids listened to their mom and didn’t touch. Instead, the little girl shook his toys at him and tried to get him to smile. Since these were kids and not full-grown adults I didn’t mind. (Hmmm…I wonder why that is. I should explore that.) Anyhow….

Mom herded the kids back on their bikes. The little girl looked at me and said, “Your baby is really cute. You should keep him.” Her mother had the most awkward, shocked look on her face. I told her that I went through a lot to get him and I certainly planned on keeping him.

I feel like I should evaluate her statement and hypothesize as to what her parents may have taught her about beauty to make her think that he is only worth keeping because he is cute. I could do that, but I don’t really want to. I am just going to consider this one of those “kids say the darnedest things” moments and continue to remember that exchange as a cute one.

One thought on “Advice from a 5 year old

  1. Love it! We say something to the effect of “I guess we’ll keep you” to our kids all the time 🙂 Usually for very odd reasons. Like Aidan’s ability to quote Star Wars or do an excellent impression of a wookie, for example.

Leave a Reply

