Yesterday’s moment of un-Zen

I like how John Stewart has his “moment of Zen” at the end of his shows. It’s usually a quick video clip of someone saying something funny – in a can’t believe s/he said that kind of way. I often laugh while at my job because of silly things people say and do. Hey – I work in IT. It’s the little things. For example, my co-workers and I would find this hilarious: SELECT * FROM users WHERE clue > 0. Most of you are now rolling your eyes thinking, “Where the heck is she going with this?” or “She works in IT? Can she fix my computer?” The answers are: we’re getting there, and no, I most certainly cannot. (But Jeff of AwesomeIT sure can. Give him a call!) Anyway, let me get back to what happened yesterday, and why it was most decidedly un-Zen-like.

I was working from home yesterday, just like any other Monday. I saw a call coming through and groaned. This person elicits that response from me every time. She is just odd. And very ignorant about everything. I get incredibly frustrated every time. I braced myself. I greeted her and as I did so Little Dude made a noise of some sort in the background. She said to me, “Oh! Is that that baby you adopted?”

That’s it. Seven words. Seven words that made me sit there in shock. “That baby you adopted?” I couldn’t even come up with words and merely said, “Uh-huh”. So that was the part that really got me. But she made it even “better” by continuing: “How’s it going? I bet it’s crazy.” I told her that no, it’s not crazy. In fact, he’s really great. She said, “Well, don’t worry. It gets a lot better.” Um….

I can only assume that she addresses all parents in a similar manner. I assume that she will go up to other parents and say, “Hey. Is that that baby you squeezed out of your vagina?” Makes sense, right?

I have got to work on my comebacks. It would have been so easy to say, “Who? Oh, you mean MY SON. Why yes, that’s him.” But I was just too amazed to think.

So there it is. Your moment of un-Zen.

2 thoughts on “Yesterday’s moment of un-Zen

  1. Most people have moments of awkwardness. Some are cursed that way for life. The best you can do is read the best intentions into even a badly phrased comment. BTW, Elijah gets cuter every time I see him. I wish we could meet him in person!

Leave a Reply

