Hot and spicy yumminess

We had an abundance of green peppers in our CSA box, and I had no idea what to do with them. I couldn’t eat more stuffed peppers, and wasn’t in a fajita mood. I didn’t want to simply chop and freeze them, and I certainly didn’t want to throw them away. I was in quite a pickle . . . er, pepper?

I found this seemingly simple recipe that I hoped might taste okay. I had all the ingredients at my fingertips. It took 20 minutes to cook. It could be served warm, room temperature, or cold. I had little faith that it would be very good.

I was wrong.

I thought this dish was amazing, but then I am a wacky most-of-the-time vegan who eats all sorts of weird crap. Then I started dishing it out to others – starting with my husband. He liked it. We ate a whole bunch for dinner, but there was a crap-ton left over. I didn’t know what to do it, so I took it to a brunch with two girlfriends the next day. They devoured it too. We went camping last weekend and those same two girlfriends insisted that I make this dish again. I did. I came home with barely any leftovers.

It was quite impressive, honestly. I don’t know that I have ever witnessed meat eaters devouring a vegan, gluten-free dish like that. It warmed my heart. Actually, no. The garlic chili sauce did that.

You’ll love this recipe. It’s quinoa with caramelized onions and peppers. I added fried tofu, but I guess you could use meat if you had to. I used asian chili garlic sauce for the heat and it made it totally, completely addictive. My  mouth was on fire but I kept eating!

 

One thought on “Hot and spicy yumminess

Leave a Reply

