Easy ratatouille

We weren’t home a lot this weekend due to an illness in the family (the 3 of us are fine). When Monday rolled around, and I took inventory of my refrigerator, I was anxious. I had a lot of produce to use. Last week’s CSA delivery included 6 heads of lettuce, so I have been chomping away at that every day for breakfast. Yes, I said breakfast. Remember this post? I’m throwing scallions into whatever I can. I’d say I am doing a good job on the stuff I get in “the box”, but it’s the stuff I bought at the grocery store, for which I had other plans, that stumped me.  Luckily I found several recipes for roasted ratatouille. I thought the idea sounded good, so I got to chopping.

Roasted ratatouille is super easy, but it takes a little time to get all of the veggies cut. I would also caution against doing this recipe on the first really warm, humid day of the season if you haven’t yet caved and turned on the air conditioning. (Note: I made it through 10 minutes of roasting before I turned on the AC. It was 85 degrees in the house. And ugh the humidity.) But seriously, it doesn’t get much easier than this:

1 eggplant, chopped into 1/2″ cubes
2 bell peppers, chopped into 1″ strips (I used red and yellow for color)
1 zucchini, sliced and then chopped into quarters
1 head of garlic, separated and peeled (leave the cloves whole if they are small, or cut in half if they are large)
1 red onion, thinly sliced into half moons
4 smallish tomatoes, sliced
1/3 – 1/2 c olive oil
1 c dry quinoa
2 c water

Line two sheet pans with aluminum foil and coat with cooking spray. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine all of the vegetables, except for the tomatoes, in a bowl. Toss with olive oil, salt and pepper. Divide between the two pans. Cook for 20 minutes, stirring halfway through. After 20 minutes, add the tomatoes to the top of the veggies. (At this point I also combined all of the veggies onto one tray since they had shrunk so much.) Roast for 10 more minutes, or until everything looks scrumptious.

Meanwhile, cook the 1 cup quinoa with 2 cups water until fluffy.

Since it was hot as an oven, I let this rest for a good long while and we ate it at room temperature. It made 4 very hearty servings.

Leave a Reply

