Chopping Broccoli

Does anyone remember the SNL skit from ages ago where Dana Carvey sang “Chopping Broccoli”? You know, back when SNL was funny? Every time I see broccoli, I think of it.

(The actual SNL skit is pretty funny, but it takes a while to get to the song, so I decided to save you some precious moments and just put up the song. It’s worth watching the whole clip, though.)

In my search for the evening’s dinner, I found some broccoli in the fridge that came in my CSA box a couple of weeks ago. I had completely forgotten about it, but found that it held up surprisingly well. I knew exactly what to do with it. Aside from making cream of broccoli soup in the winter, the only thing I ever do with broccoli is roast it. It is the easiest darned side dish on the planet, unless you count serving up raw broccoli with ranch dressing. I guess that works too, but it’s way less interesting.

Here’s whatcha gotta do if you have two small heads of broccoli like I did:

  • Wash your broccoli. But you knew that already.
  • Cut it into smallish pieces. Don’t cut them too small or they’ll burn too much.
  • Put the broccoli in a big bowl, and pour in a few glugs of olive oil.
  • Add 2 teaspoons, more or less, minced garlic. I usually use the jarred kind because it’s quite small and uniform.
  • Sprinkle some sea salt and chili pepper over top of all of that.
  • Toss it around so everything gets distributed pretty evenly.
  • Spread on a greased baking sheet. I line mine with aluminum foil because I’m lazy about cleaning up.
  • Bake at 400 for 15-20 minutes. You want to let the edges start to char a bit. It’s perfectly done with the edges are blackened and it all looks a bit wilted.
  • Fight your significant other for it. It’s that good. My husband will eat an entire sheet pan of broccoli this way if I let him. No lie.

Even Little Dude was intrigued by the broccoli on his plate. He tried to eat it, and got about halfway through chewing it before he spit it out. Bless his little heart. I think he liked the taste but was bothered by the texture. I’m immensely happy he tried a veggie on his own, without first fighting with me. Victory is mine!

 

Leave a Reply

