Zucchini Noodles and Guacamole Potato Salad

That title probably has some of my friends running for the hills. It sounds odd, quite frankly. (Though most of my friends would probably say, “Everything she posts is a little odd, so why is this different?”)Zucchini noodles? Guacamole and potato salad together? What is she thinking?

I’ll tell you what I’m thinking: I’m thinking yum. And I want more.

Our friends Bob and Melissa came in from DC to visit the other day. My husband invited them over for some food and drinks. I didn’t know what “food and drinks” meant to them, but to me it means a meal, not finger food. This girl eats.

I had three gold and green zucchini to use, plus a couple of pounds of potatoes and some avocados. I didn’t think I’d find anything that would work, but I was wrong. I found this recipe for Zucchini “Noodles” with Sesame-Peanut Sauce and this one for Creamy Avocado Potato Salad. I was 99% sure both recipes would turn out well since both bloggers are pretty darned good.

Let’s talk about the zucchini dish first. I don’t have a spiralizer (yet) so I used a neat little veggie peeler thingy my mother in law got me. It gave me long, skinny strands of (straight) noodles. I think my three zukes were more than a pound because the sauce didn’t quite go far enough. I made a second batch of the sauce and then felt happy. I used some sriracha sauce, and sat the bottle of it on the table so folks could add more if they wanted it (which all did). I was very pleasantly surprised with how well this dish went over. Melissa loved it, and fished every last zucchini noodle from the serving bowl. With hardly any calories per serving, it is a great summer dish.

I was very pleased with how the potato salad turned out. Basically this is a thinner version of guacamole (consistency-wise) mixed with boiled potatoes. For the win! It was delicious and filling. The only problem with it is that leftovers are visually unappealing since the avocado browns pretty fast. The solution is to force-feed your guests so there are no leftovers. I was unsuccessful in this endeavor, but we did a good job and only had a small amount leftover.

Both dishes are insanely quick and easy to prepare, but neither should be prepared much in advance. The zucchini weeps and leaves you with some excess water in your bowl, and the avocado gets brown. Aside from that, though, I think they are both summertime cookout picnic foods!

Leave a Reply

