Some fun facts

I saw this survey on Janetha’s Meals and Moves blog, and thought it would be fun to give it a whirl. Call me a lazy blogger; I won’t be offended.

1. What did you eat for breakfast?
I’ve been going back and forth between a couple of my favorites lately for this oh-so-important first meal of the day. Today I threw a sliced banana and about 3/4 cup blueberries in a bowl, topped it with about 1/4 cup granola (just enough for a little crunch in most every bite) and then topped all of that off with a vanilla protein shake! I liked this last week when my protein powder was chocolate. This week all I could find was vanilla. It lacks the oomph, but still tasted pretty darned good.

A sweet, crunchy, protein-breakfast
A sweet, crunchy, protein-breakfast

Oh, and coffee.

Coffee, aka Happy Juice

2. How much water do you drink a day?
I aim for a gallon but lately have been falling way short, despite the hot temperatures. I think the last few days I’ve been averaging about 64 oz or so.

3. What is your current favorite workout?
Well, I love a good run. My other workouts vary from day to day, and I rarely repeat them. I follow a website (www.gppfit.com) that prescribes them daily, and I do my best to follow them to a T. I would say my most recent favorite was this one:
7 rounds (with 45 seconds rest between each exercise, thank you God)
5 weighted push-ups
10 strict push-ups (2 seconds down, 2 seconds up)
20 chair dips
I conned my friend Amy into doing this with me. She absolutely hated me at the end. We’re still friends and still work out together on occasion. She’s apparently forgetful.

4. How many calories do you eat a day?
I don’t track them, but since I tend to eat fairly similarly from day to day, I can wager a guess. On a “normal” day (meaning a run of about 5 miles and/or a strength training workout) I probably eat about 1800-2000. On long run days, it can get to be a lot more.

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks?
Berries! I need not explain.

Before: Fresh organic black raspberries
Before: Fresh organic black raspberries
After: the carnage
After: the carnage

Dates, dates, dates! They are one of my favorite things on the whole planet!

Sweet, potassium filled goodness
Sweet, potassium filled goodness

Again, if I’ve run longer, this will change. I often add in some nuts here, or have a slice of sprouted bread (ex. Ezekiel) with tahini and either grape jam or apple butter from my favorite orchard.

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?
A lot of times I’ll eat leftovers from the previous night’s dinner. Other times it’s a plate of randomness – in order to use up what’s in the fridge. Other days, like today, it’s my go-to meal: sauteed tofu, steamed sweet potatoes and kale, all topped with the juice of a half an orange mixed with about 2 teaspoons melted coconut oil. I sprinkle on some sea salt and garam masala or cardamom, or even cinnamon, and dig in!

7. What is your favorite body part to strength train?
I go back and forth on this one. I can’t decide if it’s legs or back. Hmmmmm….

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train?
Abs. No contest.

9. What are your “bad” food cravings?
Chocolate and nut butters

10. Do you take vitamins or supplements?
Iron (I’m very anemic), calcium (I have another health condition that makes this one very important), B12 (the whole vegan thing) and potassium (since I run a lot)

11. How often do you eat out?
Not often – maybe once or twice per month if you count getting some coffee at Starbucks. We are in a babysitting co-op most of the year and can get out 3 times per month without our son. When that’s in full swing, we go out to dinner one or two of those nights.

12. Do you eat fast food?
Rarely. If we are on a long road trip, I might get some fries. And again, if Starbucks counts as fast food, you can add that in. If I’m on the road and in the need of food, I typically stop at a gas station and buy a granola bar to tide me over. Since I don’t eat meat or dairy or eggs, that knocks out 98% of fast food!

13. Who is your biggest supporter?
My husband. He lets me do all of my crazy running and he eats all of my weird foods without complaining.

14. Do you have a gym membership?
Absolutely. We have the most fabulous gym a mile away and got in during their initial membership drive. They have childcare too, so I can take Little Dude with me. I love that place. Love it.

15. How many hours of sleep do you get a night?
I usually get about 6.5 – 7 hours. I do best on 7.5 – 8, but functioned at about 5-6 for many years while working. I left my job a year ago and swear I am still functioning on a deficit!

16. Do you have a “cheat” day?
It depends. If I’m truly “dieting” and counting calories, yes. I always build in a cheat day. If I’m living life by the seat of my pants, every day has something small that might be considered a “cheat”. I try to manage my cravings by frequently indulging – though not overindulging – so I don’t feel deprived and find myself on a binge.

17. Do you drink alcohol?
Um, yeah. I love beer. I love wine. I love vodka. I love tequila. I hate being drunk, though, so I make it a habit to keep myself in check. On those rare occasions where I have one too many, it’s still less than most people I know drink!

18. Do you have a workout buddy?
Wellllllll . . . I have lots of running buddies, but my most reliable one is Anne. As for strength training, no. During the summers my friend Amy and I get together a few times and do some workouts, but it’s not all that often.

19. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to a healthy lifestyle?
I feel healthier, of course. I think I look better. I feel more confident. And some of my friends have changed their habits because of my example.

20. What was the last healthy thing you did?
I went for a trail run on the mountain behind my house before dinner tonight. It was super hot and humid, so maybe it wasn’t the smartest thing! I followed up the run with a big peach/raspberry/spinach protein smoothie. It totally hit the spot. (Then the neighbor brought over pie. Refer to question #16.)

Well, that’s enough for now. Off to dreamland!

Leave a Reply

