Yummy pesto and zucchini pasta

I had a bunch of stuff I needed to use, and I wasn’t sure what to do. The items that needed my most immediate attention were basil, zucchini and sun sugar tomatoes. Hmmmm….

After a good bit of thinking, I had an idea. I decided to do with the zucchini and tomatoes what I nearly always do with vegetables: roast them. I cut the pint of tomatoes in half, lined them up on a baking sheet (lined with aluminum foil, sprayed with non-stick spray), topped them with some spritzes of olive oil, and roasted them 225 degrees for about two hours. (If yours are bigger, you might need to go longer; you’ll know when they’re done.) When those were nearly done, I sliced two zucchinis pretty thin. (I used a mandolin slicer to keep them even.) I tossed them in some olive and salt, and then threw them on a baking sheet lined with foil. (Again, make sure to use some non-stick spray.) I brought the oven up to 350 degrees to roast my zucchini. I cooked them for ten minutes per side and then called those slices done.

Meanwhile, I boiled up some fusillini pasta. I like this pasta because it’s made with spinach and zucchini. It’s not like it’s getting my kid a ton of his veggies, but it’s something. With a 2 1/2 year old, you take what you can get.

So anyway . . . I have the veggies roasting and the pasta boiling. What is going to tie all of this together? A pesto, of course! Pesto is awesome. You can throw a bunch of an herb and some nuts together with some olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper, and you have yourself a darned fine topping. Mmmmm, yum.

For this pesto, I used all of the basil that I had. I’d estimate it to be about a cup or so. I threw in about 1/4 cup salted almonds, 1/4 cup olive oil, a tablespoon of fresh lemon juice, a big clove of garlic, some salt and pepper into my food processor. I ran that ’round and ’round a few times and toyed with the seasonings until it was just right.

I tossed the warm pasta with the pesto until it filled in all the nooks and crannies. I topped that off with the roasted tomatoes and zucchini. I hoped it would be good.

By golly, it was good. No, not good – great. The sweetness of the veggies were perfectly balanced with the savoriness of the pesto. I was so pleasantly surprised. And the boys liked it too! Welllll, not really. S liked it a lot, but Little Dude just picked out the zucchini and ate those. Fail, you say? No! The child ate zucchini without fighting! For the win!

Roasted zucchini and tomato pesto pasta
Roasted zucchini and tomato pesto pasta
2 thoughts on “Yummy pesto and zucchini pasta

Leave a Reply

