A butt-burning leg workout

This will just be a quick post today. I wanted to share with you the workout I did on Tuesday morning, because I still feel it in a big way. You know it’s a good workout when you still can’t walk right on Thursday morning.

jello leg tabata

Tabatas are so awesome. I love them, and do them frequently – especially when I am crunched for time and need a quality workout. You just need to set a timer for 8 rounds of 20 seconds and 10 seconds. I love my little GymBoss timer, but there are apps for your smartphones that will do the job as well. During the 20 seconds, you’ll crank out as many reps as you can with good form. Really push here, because you get to rest during the 10 seconds. Those 10 seconds pass quickly, but they really give you what you need to keep pushing through the next rounds. After 8 rounds, you are done with that exercise, and you can move on.

Just in case you need some clarification on these four moves, here we go (click on the exercise name for a video demo). . .

  1. Squats – These are nothing fancy. You don’t need weights. You are just going to squat down like you’re sitting on a chair.
  2. Walking Lunges – If you don’t do these often, it is good to review proper form. Make sure to tap your knee to the floor. You’ll get the most out of this move, plus you might bring home some nice little bruises to show off your hard work.
  3. Deadlifts – I love deads. For this workout, you’ll want to go somewhere between 1/2 – 3/4 of your normal deadlift weight since you are going for max reps, not max weight. If you have never done deads before, give them a try first to figure out a good weight before you start the timer. As an example, I usually do my deads with about 85 pounds on the bar. For this Tabata session, I used a 50 lb preloaded bar.
  4. Single Leg Sit-to-stand – Wowza this one hurts. I first did these in PT a few years ago, and remember struggling to stand up. It takes a good bit of strength, but even more balance and stability. You might not get many of these reps out during each round, but that’s okay. Focus on your form so you don’t hurt yourself; that’s way more important here than getting an extra rep or two in.

I hope you “enjoy” this as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

