Just a quickie

I have had a super busy week, so I’ve neglected the blog. Again. I promise to do better. If #apple would send me a free computer, I’d be happy. Until then, we are a one-computer-with-too-much-work-to-do household. Anywho . . . .

I’m cranking out some cupcakes for a 16 year old’s birthday this morning before I head to Maryland. I’m pretty excited about my trip. I’m heading down for yet another race. I feel like all I’ve done this year is race, and that is not normal for me. I’m doing the Stone Mill 50 Mile race, which is a no-frills ultra. I am pretty much just doing it to support my friend, Kasey-Dee. She’s doing this race as her first ultra. She just did a marathon 3 weeks ago, so she is ready to go.

I have no idea how my body will react to doing this 50 after doing the 100K six weeks ago, so it might be interesting. I haven’t been doing a ton of running in between the two races for a few reasons: I really haven’t had the time (and haven’t cared enough to make it); it’s been cold and windy (and I am just not ready for all of that); and I was afraid of getting injured (which tends to happen to me after my fall races).

I created a great workout and did it on Tuesday, but it took too much out of my legs. They are still sore, so that’s not good. But whatever. It will be fine, I’m sure.

We are supposed to have fabulous weather for the race, so that is awesome. The weather forecast totally sets my mood for ultras. There are going to be some showers overnight, so the course might be a little muddy, but what’s a race without a little mud, right?? It should be about 44 degrees at the start, which sounds cold but really isn’t when it’s the beginning of a 10+ hour day. The rest of the day will be mostly cloudy with a high of 55. PERFECT!!!! Total sunshine is beautiful, but it’s not always ideal. Cloudy and 55 is awesome for that distance.

Join me in wishing Kasey-Dee luck at her first ultra. I’m sorry (but not) that I lured you into this kooky sport. Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

