Year end wrap up

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. The hectic holidays took over and kept me from blogging. Whatever – it’s okay. You all obviously survived without me. I guess I’ll skip the Christmas review and just do a quick “year in review”. It won’t all be sunshine and rainbows.

January

The year started off quietly. I had yet another injury so I wasn’t really running. I don’t care for winter, so this was fine with me. I spent a lot of quality time with Little Dude. It was around this time that we finally got an appointment for him with the ENT. The ENT took 5 seconds with him and decided that surgery was a good move. He took out LD’s adenoids and put tubes in his ears. Best. Decision. Ever.

376258_10151444694275505_1813922729_n
This was the saddest, cutest thing ever. This was the saddest, cutest thing ever.

February

Little Dude turned 2. We had a music themed party. I stupidly scheduled the party for 2pm, which was one of the dumbest things I have ever done. Most toddlers – including Little Dude, nap around this time. All of the other kids were fine, but he had a meltdown and didn’t really participate in his own party. Oh well, it was his party and he cried ‘cuz he wanted to.

I got as creative as I could, with the help of the internet. You can’t really tell from the pictures here, but we had a sandwich “piano”, microphone cupcakes, drumstick pretzel rods, musical munchies, hummmmmus (get it?), and a cake, of course.

480173_10151496444195505_2138139374_n 563179_10151496445720505_118238160_n

March

After taking a lot of time off and running a long run of about 12 miles, I decided to head out for our unofficial Marathon d’Henri. (None of us speak French but we decided that we’d make up a Frenchy-French sounding name for this event.) We run 13 miles from a bar to my friend’s house via the Appalachian Trail. We get some water and snacks and then run back. It’s a challenging section of the trail, but we love it. Despite my lack of training, it went super well. I kept up with everyone. OK, there were 3 of us, but that’s still “everyone”.

S turned 38. His birthday lacked the themed party that Little Dude got, but it was still fun. I made him a huge breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate and ate and ate. Yum.

April

Ho-hum. Boring.

May

S and I celebrated our 5th year wedding anniversary with an overnight trip to Philly. We ate dinner at Vedge, a fully vegan restaurant. It was absolutely amazing. Expensive, but amazing. If you are fond of veggies and in the Philly area, you should give it a shot. You will not be disappointed. While we were out there we also ran the Broad Street 10 Miler. It was my 3rd time and his 2nd. Since this was a couple of weeks after the Boston Marathon bombing, it was a little tense and security was high. It was also pretty chilly while we waited for the start. Once we started, though, it was perfect. I PR’d by 4 minutes, so I was happy. We hit up another restaurant for lunch that wasn’t fully vegan, but it did have a vegan seitan rueben which was divine. Yum.

We celebrated our anniversary nearly two weeks early, and I’m glad we did. On our actual anniversary, which is also my grandfather’s birthday, we got a call from hospice. They expected him to pass away that night. We rushed down to say our goodbyes. He ended up living another 2 weeks – 2 weeks after he said he made his peace with God and was ready to go. After 3 days he told us not to come back. He didn’t want any more company. He was refusing all food and only taking in a bit of water here and there. How he lasted those 2 weeks, we’ll never know. He passed away on June 1, 2 weeks after turning 90.

Little Dude got his first haircut!

June

We unfortunately started June with my grandfather’s funeral. It was a beautiful, truly amazing way to remember him. That’s all I will say. If you want to read more, go to this entry.

We checked PA off from our 50 state race list, and I PR’d. I was pretty stoked.

I did the Hell Hath No Hurry Endurance Race. It was fun, and I did well.

THEN we went to Charlottesville for our family vacation. It was a short trip, but we packed in a lot of stuff. We did a 5K there, so we got VA off our list. I actually did really well there, even though I didn’t PR. It was great.

July

I ran the Harrisburg Mile. It was awful. I PR’d, but it was awful.

We received Mom’s diagnosis.

July sucked.

August

I ran the Conococheague 50K. It was HARD, but fun, and I made some new friends.

My friend Jen and I took our girls’ run-cation. It was so much fun! I can’t wait until the 2014 edition.

September

I ran the VHTRC Women’s Trail Half Marathon. It was my second time at this race, and I PR’d by 17 minutes. 17 minutes is HUGE!

Little Dude and I took a train ride out to Philly to visit S while he was working there for a few days. LD loved the train, but was scared to death of getting in a taxi!

Mom got her dream car, a 1966 Mustang!

October

I ran the Oil Creek 100K again. This was the second time I ran the 100K, plus I ran the 100 mile version once. I was super excited to beat my 100K time by nearly an hour this year. Woo hoo!

We went on another mini-vacation to Sea Isle City. It pretty much sucked.

I turned 35!

November

I ran the Stone Mill 50 with my friend Kasey-Dee. It was a great day! After a lot of thinking, I have decided I will go back and run it again next year.

Mom had her mastectomy.

I directed the 3rd Annual Tree 4 Hope Turkey Day K. It was a monster of a success. I can’t even imagine what next year hold’s for us!

December

Little Dude finally started to cut his first 2 year molar. Merry Christmas, dude!

Mom’s been having a really rough time now for a while. It sucks. Big time. Christmas prep just wasn’t the same because of it. Christmas just seemed a little less sparkly. As we head into the new year, I’m conflicted. I’m anxious to put this rough year behind me. (I left out some of the other crap that went on because I’m not one to air all of my dirty laundry. Let me just say it’s been a very, very, VERY rough year.) I want to close the door on 2014. At the same time, though, I keep wondering what 2014 holds for my mom. With that, I will bid you adieu.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Year end wrap up

Leave a Reply

