Since I’m not eating sugar this week, it seems appropriate to talk about CUPCAKES

As you know, I follow a plant-based (vegan diet). During the last 6 months I’ve also significantly reduced the amount of gluten I eat. It has made a huge difference in many aspects of my health, and I need to share that with you another day in another blog entry. This week I’m sugar free – that’s no added sugars. Sugars found naturally in fruits are fine, but no other sorts of sugars or sugar substitutes. Thankfully it hasn’t been all that bad. I haven’t had shakes or headaches or mad cravings like a lot of the folks have been posting in our group. It’s been challenging because nearly all pre-packaged things that I use have some sort of sugar or sugar sub in them. Rice thins to go with my almond butter? Sugar. Salsa to go on my salad? Sugar. Ketchup to use on my chickpea pancake? Sugar!

While I was thinking about sugar, I was reminded of some of the awesome photos I have of my cupcakes. My husband did a fantastic job photographing them, so I wanted to share them.

Cookies & Cream
Cookies & Cream
"Eggnog" with run frosting
“Eggnog” with run frosting
Pumpkin spice with candied pumpkin seeds
Pumpkin spice with candied pumpkin seeds
Mexican hot chocolate with cinnamon frosting (cupcake contains cinnamon and chili powder)
Mexican hot chocolate with cinnamon frosting (cupcake contains cinnamon and chili powder)

Rum & coke (coke flavored cupcake with rum frosting)

Chocolate mint
Chocolate mint

Of all of these, I think I have to say the Mexican hot chocolate one is my favorite. I love the bit of heat from the chili with the richness of the chocolate. I’m a sucker for the eggnog too, though. And the pumpkin spice one. I guess I can’t pick just one!

I think I got my sugar fix to get me through the rest of the week. Good night!

 

2 thoughts on “Since I’m not eating sugar this week, it seems appropriate to talk about CUPCAKES

    1. It hasn’t been that bad at all. Fruits are allowed, so that helps. I found myself wanting stuff but not as badly as I thought I would. The main problem is that it is in so many things I never would have thought of, like Veganaise (vegan mayo), crackers, sauces, etc. It’s a real eye-opener.

Leave a Reply

