The good kind of ‘hurt’

I am making good on some of my ides-of-March resolutions this week. I know it’s only Thursday, but I’m doing it, and I need to keep myself motivated by sharing publicly. I don’t want to be perceived as bragging about what I can do; it’s more of an accountability thing. I have hit the gym 3 out of 3 days, got in a good run on Tuesday (with another scheduled for tonight), and am eating way cleaner. That trio of improvements has led me to feel way better already. I dropped 4.5 lbs (of bloat) in 3 days without any crazy cleanse or meds. It just amazes me how my body reacts when I put certain foods into it. By cutting them out, I can change out I look in a matter of days. (I’ll touch more on this in an upcoming blog.)

I am so happy to be back to the gym more frequently. While it’s a big chain, I love my gym. I see the same folks there all the time, and we all give each other a wave or head nod. The “meat-heads” that some people might complain about are all super nice, and don’t mind the fact that the crazy girl with the weird workouts invades their space. We have really great equipment, and lots of it, so there is rarely a time when I have to wait for what I need.

This week I’ve completed 3 pretty cool workouts. I have mentioned before that I follow GPP Fitness, and Neil (the guy behind GPP) is the source for these workouts. He has upped the cardio elements of our workouts this week since we (well, they) have been focusing on strength for so long this winter. I love these cardio-heavy workouts, and I love the feeling I have in my legs right now. They are sore and tired, but not overly so. They feel like they are being used and developed. It’s fabulous. Here’s what I did Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, respectively, of this week.

Three Bars of Death

AMRAP in 20 min of:

5 deadlifts 95/135
5 power cleans 45/95
5 push press 45/95

How can you go wrong with a workout called Three Bars of Death? I haven’t done deads in a few months, so I backed the weight down to 65#. The only problem with doing this workout at my gym without a partner is that I lost a lot of time taking the plates on and off the bar.

Arms & 400s

Complete 3 rounds before moving on.

5 strict chin-ups
20 BB biceps curls 45/65
400 m run

then, complete 3 rounds of:

10 BB skull crushers 45/65
20 chair dips
400 m run

I haven’t been doing chin-ups in months either. When I was doing them regularly, I could get 2 good ones out and then muscled through most of a 3rd before falling. I did these with the assist machine, with a lower assist than I thought I would need. I also backed down just a few pounds on the weights. I love 400m repeats.

Row/KB – Run/KB

3 rounds for time:

500m row
25 KB swings 25/35
400m run
25 KB swings 25/35

I hate rowing. I hate rowing beside someone who is wearing weird headphone earbud/cellphone earpiece thingys. I hate hearing her talk to her whomever about his job promotion. Ugh. But I got it done. This is a fun workout and it makes the time fly by.

With all of that, plus a good 6 mile run on Tuesday night, I feel good. I feel like my muscles are rebuilding right this moment. That is such a good feeling.

2 thoughts on “The good kind of ‘hurt’

  1. I am surprised people are allowed to talk on their phone/ear buds at your gym. My pet peeve is GUM CHEWING. If someone gets on a machine beside me and chews gum, it’s all I can do to not punch them in the face! I have never ever rowed. PF doesn’t have it. Glad you are getting your workouts in! I’m running more (not trail) now so we should get one in together sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

