Chopped!

Yesterday I did something I never thought I would do: I chopped off my hair. If you have known me for any length of time, you know that I have always had long hair. It’s my only real vanity. I don’t wear make-up. I don’t do manicures or pedicures. I am not a fit bikini model. The only thing I’ve ever really, truly had was my hair.

When I was in 3rd grade it was chopped very, very short. I don’t know how that happened. I can’t imagine it was my idea. Perhaps it was my mom’s? I can’t ask her, so I will never know. But I remember crying because I hated it. I thought it would never grow back. I thought it was so ugly, and it most certainly was not me. Even at a young age I tied my identity to my hair.

If you’ve been reading my blog for the last few months, you know that I lost my mom to inflammatory breast cancer on February 1, 2014. In her honor, I decided to donate my hair to Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths. In this post, I detailed how I hoped I could create a neat viral event and get bunches of women and girls to donate their ponytails. It didn’t pan out like I had hoped. (I have no idea how people get these types of things to “go viral”. Seriously, what’s the secret?) It takes 8-15 ponytails to make a wig, so my goal was 8. I want to thank the following ladies for donating their ponytails: Richele, Rachael, Nicole, Sayard, Andrea, Savannah, Sara, and Tanya. With my hair chop yesterday, we ended up with 9 ponytails. Goal achieved! I don’t know Sara and Tanya, so I guess I did sort of achieve my goal of “going viral”, even if it barely happened.

So you probably want to see pictures, right? Well, of course I have a before photo. I don’t often straighten my hair, but wanted to see just how long it really was, so I did so yesterday. As my friend Amy puts it, it was “Walmart long”. But I loved it.

IMG_20140529_144004 20140529_111748

And here’s the after. I don’t love it, but whatever; it will grow back.

I suck at taking selfies. I always look awkward.
I suck at taking selfies. I always look awkward.

And who doesn’t love a creepy ponytail picture?

2014-05-30 07.31.39

I totally creeped out my niece last night when I pulled this thing (in a plastic baggie) out of my purse. I thought her eyes were going to pop out of her head.

I chose yesterday as “chop day” because it would have been my mom’s 61st birthday. It rained all day, which I found fitting. It was a cold, rainy, dreary day, and the only thing we really had planned for the day was the haircut. It had been more than 2 years since my last haircut, and I forgot how nice they could be! The nicest part of my day was that haircut. Michaela at Salon McBeth is the BEST shampooer ever. Ever. If I had a lot of money, I would totally hire her to wash my hair all the time. After the haircut, the day sort of stalled. We couldn’t go outside to play or walk, so we were stuck inside. I caved and let Little Dude watch “Frozen”. (I can’t say I’m a fan.) I ended the day indulging in an Endangered Species chocolate bar. Mom was a huge chocoholic and really loved dark chocolate. I ate just about all of it, sparing a few squares for S. (I regret that this morning; I am not handling sugar well these days!)

IMG_20140530_074959

So I want to end this by saying two things:

1. If you or someone who know has a ponytail, consider donating it to someone who has lost their hair. Pantene Beautiful Lengths is a great program, but they do not accept color treated hair. Locks for Love requires a couple more inches of hair, but does accepted dyed hair.

2. Happy birthday, Mom. I love you and miss you terribly. See if you can convince God to speed up my hair’s regrowth, okay?

One thought on “Chopped!

Leave a Reply

