Making life a little less convenient and my quest for simplification

For years I’ve used my microwave with a little bit of suspicion. Just what were those waves doing to my food, beyond heating it. Don’t get me wrong – I loved the convenience. You could forget to thaw something and – BOOM! – it’s thawed. You could reheat last night’s dinner in 90 seconds. You could boil water for your hot chocolate. A bowl of oatmeal here, a cup of soup there, and even a faux-baked potato every once in a while. It had its uses.

As I moved towards a less processed diet, then to being vegetarian, and then to a plant-based diet, I realized that we were using the microwave a whole lot less. It was collecting a lot of dust, and was becoming an eyesore. It was the second one we had since we were married; the first one only lasted about 5 years. I didn’t like the idea of having to replace an appliance that didn’t serve much of a purpose so often.

One day, about a week before Christmas, I had planned a Christmas ornament craft that required the oven. I had three trays of food that needed to go in the oven too. My husband put something in the microwave as I hit “preheat” on the oven. I said to him, “I could live if our microwave died, but I couldn’t go a week if the oven died.” Within 90 seconds the heating element burst into flames, split in two and everything came to a standstill.

Correction: I couldn’t go 5 minutes without the oven.

We fixed the oven, but decided that when the microwave died, we weren’t replacing it. Well, July rolled around and I was nuking something that required me to stir it halfway through. After the beeper went off, I did my duty and stirred whatever it was and put it back in to finish cooking. The stupid thing died. I cursed it, unplugged it and walked it to the garbage.

microwave

Its removal opened up a TON of counter space. Our kitchen looked so much bigger! I didn’t have to clean it, and a reduction in cleaning is always welcome.

Do I miss it? Nope. There was only one time that I wished I had it, and that was because I had a potluck at my house and someone brought something that needed thawed. (Thankfully my neighbors were home and let me use theirs.) There are definitely times when it would be quicker to throw something in the microwave than to heat it up on the stove or in the oven, but I don’t mind much at all. It’s really just a matter of minutes. And it doesn’t have that “nuked” flavor and texture that some foods get. I did find heating an entire oven to cook up my son’s chick’n nuggets or one of his rolls to be wasteful so I got a really nice toaster oven at a yard sale. SCORE!

Do you have a microwave? Do you use it? Could you live without it? Do you think I’m nuts?

One thought on “Making life a little less convenient and my quest for simplification

  1. We make all of our food on the weekends and stick it in the fridge to reheat throughout the week. I don’t notice a nuked flavor at all, so getting rid of my microwave would not simplify my life! I hardly ever use our toaster though. It just sits there all dirty… I prefer to broil buns and and bagels and stuff in the oven.

Leave a Reply

