I guess it’s kinda like Fight Club

I’ve never actually seen the movie, but I know the line: “The first rule of Fight Club is: you do not talk about Fight Club.” This run was kind of like that. You don’t talk about it. You have to be invited. You’re probably going to leave bloody. It’s all pretty hush-hush and messy.

I’m still easing back into running shape. I forgot how hard that process can be. The route for the day was 26 miles, but I opted for a 16 mile “short” version. I’m so thankful that I made that choice. 16 miles left me tired and sore – a feeling I haven’t had in a while. The route has some pretty good climbs, some off-trailing (is that a word), and a long-ass descent on hard packed stone. I guess that’s why my shins are abnormally sore.

The weather was cold and windy, but we managed to stay out the wind for most of the morning. The sun was shining so the cold wasn’t so horrible. BUT there were two water crossings that froze me. The first one was a wide crossing, but it was only to mid-shin. The second one was very muddy and short, but it was knee deep. Unfortunately we didn’t get to run after either of those crossings, so our feet stayed pretty cold for a while. Thankfully the water didn’t come until the last quarter of the run, so we only had to suffer with cold feet for less than an hour.

I managed not to fall or trip, however I got smacked pretty hard in the forehead with a pretty thick thorny branch. I screamed and put my hand up to my head to find blood. I can’t say I’ve ever bled from the head on a trail run! Stuff like that always stings a little bit more in the cold, so I think it felt worse than it was. With that said, I do have a small bump there, but it’s barely noticeable. I was pretty pissed that the blood was gone by the time we finished. I had no real war wounds to show! (I’m soooo thankful I didn’t take that hit in the eye. That idea alone gives me the heebie-jeebies.)

My feet didn’t get warm until about 8 hours after the run. Not only do I feel sore in odd places (shins, various small muscles in my calf and ankle regions), but I developed a nasty case of acid reflux from the run. Does anyone else deal with that? When I start back to training each year and start to hit miles between 10-20 (it varies) this happens. It generally only happens once and then I’m good to go for the rest of my training cycle. I know it will pass soon, but it sucks. Wah-wah. I’m glad I stocked up on So Delicious Coconut Milk “ice cream” a while back. Ice cream (even non-dairy) is pretty much the only thing that gives me relief. Guess who is having dessert for breakfast tomorrow?

IMG_20141024_145227

Leave a Reply

