Busy week

What a busy week! I put in a bunch more hours at work than I usually do, which is great. I work part time from home, mostly when the kids are asleep. It’s a good gig. Folks love when I bring my kids to meetings. At one point the Little Avocado ran out of Cheerios and ran out of the room. One woman ran after her and by the time I got out there the two of them were hopping down the hall, pretending they were frogs

I went to the hospital several times to visit my nephew. He has come off the ECMO machine and the respirator, so things are definitely looking up. I am anxious to go see him tomorrow and to be able to chat with him!

Little Dude turned 7 yesterday. It’s so hard to believe he is that old. As always I let him pick out all the meals. For breakfast he asked me to make this fantastic vegan “chicken” and waffles. It’s absolutely amazing; you really should try it. He doesn’t love the tofu part so he has some Trader Joe’s chickenless tenders. Oh, and he wanted a cup of (decaf) coffee.

For lunch he wanted dino kale rolls (dinosaur kale rolled up with almond butter and jelly), blueberries and carrots.

For dinner we went to my dad’s house and made pizza style mountain pies. They are soooo good.

That brings us to today. It’s Saturday so that means it’s a long run day! Today I did 23 on the Appalachian Trail with Anne, a new friend Lindsay and two of Lindsay’s friends. Anne and the two guys did 15, I did 23 and Lindsay did 30. I squeezed in 3 good climbs and a number of rocks, so it was good training for MMT. There was ice along the creek and some snow on top of the ridge, but otherwise it was dry and clear.

It took a little under 5 1/2 hours. I would have likes to have finished it faster but that was not meant to be today. And that’s totally okay – MMT is not about speed.

On my way out I noticed that someone had created some awesome art using plastic lids on the AT kiosk. Isn’t this cool?

I hope you had a fun week and are getting some fresh air this weekend!

Leave a comment